Powertap intervals in CyclingPeaks software

midastouch

Nov 5, 2005
I'm a power newbie and am just learning to use my powertap and CyclingPeaks software. Can anyone tell me how the software handles the intervals recorded on the powertap. I can't find any pre-defined function in the software. I assume that you can manually highlight the intervals in the software, but was wondering if it can be automated. I haven't done any intervals (recovering from ITB syndrome) so I haven't had the chance to experiment. Any help appreciated.

Mike

midastouch said:
I'm a power newbie and am just learning to use my powertap and CyclingPeaks software. Can anyone tell me how the software handles the intervals recorded on the powertap. I can't find any pre-defined function in the software. I assume that you can manually highlight the intervals in the software, but was wondering if it can be automated. I haven't done any intervals (recovering from ITB syndrome) so I haven't had the chance to experiment. Any help appreciated.

Mike
OK Piece of cake. It can handle the intervals you ientified during the ride or you can highlight a section of the ride hit ALT-R and you have a new interval.

Personally, I like to mark an interval (by hitting both PT buttons together) at both the start and end of work period. By keeping the PT display in "Interval Mode" (hold down mode button for ~2 sec) that resets the clock every time a new interval is marked, and that way I can easily see how many minutes into my work/rest I am. That also lets me monitor the AP of just the current interval. When the data is imported into Cycling Peaks you'll have twice as many intervals (of course) so you then rename the first work portion as an interval (for example, 2x20), link every other work interval to that first one, and delete the intervals for the rest portions in between. That way the intervals show up in the journal page ride summary, with rest periods shown in between.