powertap virtual cadence problems

Discussion in 'Power Training' started by iliveonnitro, Aug 28, 2009.

  1. iliveonnitro

    iliveonnitro New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was stopped at a red light with one foot on the ground, and the other clipped in with a little force on the pedal. I scrolled to the cadence section on the PT CPU and it was reading 20-40. hmmm...

    I also sometimes notice that my cadence will be high while riding. I've been riding for awhile and know what each cadence zone is, but it really doesn't seem like I'm doing 105 cadence while riding at 15mph at 150 watts. Sometimes it will be 110 when it should be closer to 95-100.

    This is only occasionally, but it will happen during every ride. Should I be worried about this? Will it have an effect on its accuracy?
     
    Tags:


  2. Alex Simmons

    Alex Simmons Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,471
    Likes Received:
    20
    the cadence numbers might be a little screwy but it won't affect the power readings
     
  3. iliveonnitro

    iliveonnitro New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good to know, thanks. How does the PT figure out revolutions by the hub? Eg, power = force * revolution, but how does it figure out the revolution part of it?
     
  4. RChung

    RChung New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    1
    It measures both torque (with strain gages) and angular velocity (with a small embedded magnet) at the rear hub. It doesn't need crank torque or pedal cadence at all in order to calculate power.
     
  5. iliveonnitro

    iliveonnitro New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's what I was looking for. Thanks.
     
Loading...
Loading...