pre/post bike ride in the rain--what to do for bike?

Skoorb

Jan 9, 2007
Besides lubing the chain pre-ride, is there anything else I should do before riding in the rain or after? All the hubs and bearings are totally sealed, I think, and everything is stainless steel (except maybe the cables?), so what do I need to be concerned about? Is it bad on the bike? :)

I am curious about this too since I am a newbie, and I got stuck 10 miles from the car last Thursday when we had a huge rain storm pass through. The good news is I averaged my fastest average mph since I started riding! The bad news is my wife lectured me for not checking the weather before I left the house. :D I wiped the bike down when I got home and the next day I put some chain lube on the chain. I still need to get some general purpose lube for the rest of the mechanical parts. Took the bike out since then and everything seems to be working fine.

man.... i've riden the past two days in the rain because florida is rediculous and can't go 2 hours without raining after the sun comes out....

I wipe everything down and don't have any bike lube - pre tell what else to do

Lightly bounce the bike to shake off any water. Wipe the chain off and relube it. There are a couple of things that should have been part of your regular maintenance. If you are going to ride in the rain and you have a steel frame bike, spray the inside of the tubes with a rust inhibitor. On any bike you should spray a good teflon or silicone lube through your cable guides and pull your cables through white lithium grease, whether they are stainless steel or not. You don't need to have globs of grease hanging from the cables, just enough to get between the strands to keep water out.

bobsbarricades said:
man.... i've riden the past two days in the rain because florida is rediculous and can't go 2 hours without raining after the sun comes out....

I wipe everything down and don't have any bike lube - pre tell what else to do