Preparing for my first race this sunday, please give me some advice on training

Discussion in 'Road Cycling' started by LS17, Feb 8, 2006.

1. LS17

LS17 New Member

I am very new to cycling and have just started training last week. I will be entering my first road race this sunday and was wondering if I should train more than once per day? I am only a cat 5 so I don't know if I should just take it easy for now or what. But so far I've been riding for 30 min every other day. Should I train for more than one session a day? I feel like I have more energy left in me before I go to bed.

Tags:

2. JAPANic

JAPANic New Member

Too late to worry about training for next Sunday.....

Start training for your next race about 3 months in advance or enter the races as training.

Good luck on Sunday.

Don't be surprised if you come last.

Be happy if you do come last.

I hope you don't come last.

If you win. Well, you have a talent.

3 times a week is enough for a novice.

30 minutes is a bare minimum and won't get you in race fitness.

You need to do a 2 or 3 hour ride at least once a week 2 to 3 weeks before a race if not every week of your cycling life.

I'm racing Feb 26th and I have not had enough training lately for it....I rode 100km yesterday, probably 6o tomorrow, 200 on the weekend and 300 next week over 4 days. It still won't be enough to win the race I'm going in...

I'd ride 100kms a day if I had the time....

Whatever you do on Sunday don't crash!

Don't be scared to give up if you feel unsteady or have a few close calls. Riding in a tight bunch race the first time can be deadly....

Keep on the sides so you have an exit. Don't stay near the gutters though....

Enjoy!!!!!

3. RapDaddyo

RapDaddyo Active Member