Prescription sunnies

crazney

Nov 27, 2004
Hey folks,

Being unfortunate enough to have poor eye sight, and unable to wear contact lenses, I have the misfortune of not being able to wear standard sunnies.

So I've been riding for several years with just my standard prescription glasses, but they don't offer nearly as much protection as I'd like - both from the sun and flying debris / insects etc.

I went to my optomotrist the other day to enquire about specific prescription _cycling_ sunnies.. (Cycling sunnies are different in that the wrap around further to protect your eyes from all that debris). Anyhow, the nice lady told showd me what they had available. The cheapest they had would cost me: $300 for the frame + sunglass lenses, $100 for script lenses and another $100 for a clip fixture to set them in. Apparantly these glasses have a system that allows the prescription lense to fit behind the standard lense. That's $500 for a pair of sunglasses. Not what I'm willing to pay.

So, does anyone have any advice for what I'm to do? I don't need any flashy sunglasses, just something that does the job. The cheaper the better.

Thanks folks.

David.

crazney said:
Hey folks,

I went to my optomotrist the other day to enquire about specific prescription _cycling_ sunnies.. (Cycling sunnies are different in that the wrap around further to protect your eyes from all that debris). Anyhow, the nice lady told showd me what they had available. The cheapest they had would cost me: $300 for the frame + sunglass lenses, $100 for script lenses and another $100 for a clip fixture to set them in. Apparantly these glasses have a system that allows the prescription lense to fit behind the standard lense. That's $500 for a pair of sunglasses. Not what I'm willing to pay.

So, does anyone have any advice for what I'm to do? I don't need any flashy sunglasses, just something that does the job. The cheaper the better.
g'day