Pressure Washer Selection

Hasard

May 18, 2011
Hi, has anyone out there bought one of the troy units from Lowes in the last year or so, and are you satisfied with it? Would you have another suggestion in this range that is reliable? I would like to limit my cost to $350.

I'm a pro painter and have used many different pressure washers over the years. At that price range, it's a **** shoot. Until you spend enough to get a pressure washer that is belt drive--that is, the engine and water pump are connected by a belt and pulleys, you're gambling with your money. On cheaper units, the engine and pump are directly connected ("direct drive"), and the engine vibrations tear up the pump over time. That time is always shorter than expected.

Jason

Originally Posted by jpr95 .

I'm a pro painter and have used many different pressure washers over the years. At that price range, it's a **** shoot. Until you spend enough to get a pressure washer that is belt drive--that is, the engine and water pump are connected by a belt and pulleys, you're gambling with your money. On cheaper units, the engine and pump are directly connected ("direct drive"), and the engine vibrations tear up the pump over time. That time is always shorter than expected.

Jason

+1 good advice.

Once you buy one keep it a secret. Your brother inlaw will end up borrowing it and it will come back to you junk. These powerwashers last me about two years and when I lend them out subtract the second year from them.

If you really need a pressure washer to get work done fast you will eventually end up with one in the $1000-1200 price range. If you really don't need one that often you would be better off renting one for a day. You may read excellent reviews about best presser washers according to their characteristics and rating over http://www.best-pressure-washer-reviews.com/
Hope this will have some value for you.