Proper Etiquette

Mr_Tee

Mar 12, 2010
I've been on a number of group rides and I recently completed my first century. As a rookie, I was slightly paranoid about being stupid or an unpredictable aggravation to other riders, but I was amazed at how much carelessness I witnessed (I nearly wrecked 3 times because of "idiots"). Share some examples of when you've been shocked at riders who should have known better so we all can learn...or laugh or shake our heads. Surely there are some good stories out there.

I'd be interested to hear some of these stories. I have a double century (2x100kms over 2 days) coming up next month. I'm sure i'll witness a number of things myself. Especially since I'm sure a good portion of the 3500+ riders aren't exactly hardcore cyclists. Cyclists who aren't used to riding in close proximity to others. There'll be a lot of weaving in and out in the beginning. Should be a little dicey for the first little while, until we get out of the city. By then, the mass will have spread out. Should be fun.

Gotta be a downer on this one as ALL of us have been "that guy/gal" at one time or another. As such, I personally don't get much amusement out of relating or listening to stories of cyclists pointing fingers or shaking their heads at "that guy". Seems kinda hypocritical to me...Just gotta be patient with newbies, and even some vets "that should've known better". Unless someone does something intentionally or exceedingly dangerous, I give a pretty wide latitude before I get twisted...

My $0.02CAN worth...(I realize some expert will now chime in that they've NEVER made an erratic move - the nature internet forums...). As you were...

tonyzackery said:
My $0.02CAN worth...(I realize some expert will now chime in that they've NEVER made an erratic move - the nature internet forums...). As you were...

Pshht, I'm definitely the expert :D lol. kidding. Nowhere close.