Pros and Cons of 650C wheels? Need advice.

trekker1500

Sep 8, 2004
Hello All,

This is my first visit to this message board. I have been riding seriously for about 15 years. I've got a 12-year old Trek 1400 with 700C wheels. It's maybe time for a new bike. I'm looking at a Trek 1500 WSD. It has 650C wheels, and I'm wondering what experience people have had with them. I've stayed away from women's frames in the past because of this. I always assumed the smaller wheels would put me at a disadvantage.

I don't ride with groups much. But I do like to occasionally. I live in a VERY hilly area and have to do some climbing. I think the smaller wheels may be to my advantage there. But do they make keeping up with the pack difficult? What advantages and disadvantages should I consider? I don't race, just recreational riding (roads and rail-trails).

I'm 5'3" with long legs and short torso. I need a short top tube, and that's what's attracting me to the 1500 WSD. My 1400 is 51cm and the 1500 WSD I'm considering is also 51cm.

Thanks for any advice.
Shannon ([email protected])

trekker1500 said:
Hello All,

This is my first visit to this message board. I have been riding seriously for about 15 years. I've got a 12-year old Trek 1400 with 700C wheels. It's maybe time for a new bike. I'm looking at a Trek 1500 WSD. It has 650C wheels, and I'm wondering what experience people have had with them. I've stayed away from women's frames in the past because of this. I always assumed the smaller wheels would put me at a disadvantage.

I don't ride with groups much. But I do like to occasionally. I live in a VERY hilly area and have to do some climbing. I think the smaller wheels may be to my advantage there. But do they make keeping up with the pack difficult? What advantages and disadvantages should I consider? I don't race, just recreational riding (roads and rail-trails).