Protein drinks?

watson10

May 23, 2003
I've been cycling for 3 years now. I am 42 yrs. old. I am in decent shape, but not great shape. I finished a century ride my first year in 7 hrs 40 minutes, my second year in 7 hrs flat. I ride about 25 to 90 miles a week. My friends tell me protein drink will build my muscle and increase my stamina. Is this true? At present the only thing I consume is Cytomax and carbo gels while riding. I eat fairly healthy already.

Thanks,

Tom

No, this isn't true, and is one of the biggest myths in sport! Assuming you eat a normal mixed diet (including being a vegetarian, or a well planned vegan diet) then you can *easily* meet and generally way exceed your protein requirements through normal food/diet.

Protein requirements, for even extremely intense and demanding exercise (i.e., Tour de France) can be met with a normal diet.

To increase your stamina, and more importantly to increase your fitness then you need to structure your training to meet your goals/demands.

Ric

Watson:

Forget about the food and protein drinks, you need to ride a LOT more than you are currently, especially if you want to do well over 100 miles. The consistent accumulation of workouts is what delivers improved cycling performance. Let too much time lapse between workouts, and you will stay at the same level year after year and never improve.

You need to ride at least 3 times a week for at least an hour ideally. That's an absolute bare minumum, and that's just for recreational riding, not racing. Assuming a 15 mph average speed that's already 45 miles a week. You are going as low as 25 miles a week. Cycling is very time consuming. The only thing riding 25 miles a week will get you is frustrated when you don't have the stamina you need.