Q: Tasmanian helmet laws?

• Thread starter Bradley C. Gold
  • Start date

B

Bradley C. Gold

Hi,

I am fairly new to the apple isle and was wondering if anyone could advise me whether
helmets for bicycles are compulsory or not?

Cheers, Brad

"Bradley C. Goldsmith" wrote:

> I am fairly new to the apple isle and was wondering if anyone could advise me whether
> helmets for bicycles are compulsory or not?

They're compulsory in all states and territories. I don't remember the full details, but the
federal government forced the issue years ago by tying grants to the passing of the legislation.
They all complied.

John

John Henderson wrote:

> "Bradley C. Goldsmith" wrote:
>
>> I am fairly new to the apple isle and was wondering if anyone could advise me whether
>> helmets for bicycles are compulsory or not?
>
> They're compulsory in all states and territories. I don't remember the full details, but the
> federal government forced the issue years ago by tying grants to the passing of the legislation.
> They all complied.
>
> John

Thanks for the advice.

-bcg

Originally posted by Bradley C. Gold
Sorry - I'm from NSW.
I'm only here for the real estate :)
-bcg

Damn, fooled me. Originally from Tas, but in Vic not for the real estate. Much prefer riding a pedally over here though. Four eyes very handy while cycling in heavy traffic.:D

cfsmtb wrote:

> Bradley C. Gold wrote:
> > Sorry - I'm from NSW. I'm only here for the real estate :) -bcg
>
>
>
> Damn, fooled me. Originally from Tas, but in Vic not for the real estate. Much prefer riding a
> pedally over here though. Four eyes very handy while cycling in heavy traffic.:D
>
>
>
> --

Taswegians & heavy traffic? Don't get me started.

I'm scared driving a car around here with some of the shameful displays of driving amongst the blue
rinse set here. I am tossing up whether the long overdue exercise (push bike) is worth it in the
traffic around here.