Quality or Quanity?

teenroadwarrior

Mar 26, 2010
I'm fairly new to cycling and my current pair of shorts (I think it's Hind but the tag and logos are pretty well worn off.) are falling apart on me...

So, seeing as my budget is pretty small I was wondering if I should:

(a) Buy 2-3 pairs of cheaper shorts off of nashbar i.e. these: ( they're on sale for $30 USD at the moment)
Louis Garneau Spectrum Short - Shorts

(b) Buy 1 pair of nalini bibs off of procyclegear i.e. (I've heard alot of good things about nalini.)
Nalini Corniola Bib Shorts

(c) Look around on ebay??? I haven't bought any cycling clothing off of there so I'm not sure what's what as far as quality goes.

I only ride 90-140 miles per week, but I ride pretty much every day so I find it annoying when I don't have a clean pair of shorts...:)

both. Buy the name brand stuff only when you can find them on sale. Never, ever pay full retail for this stuff - anything for that matter.

You can get some very good deals on slightly used, high quality, name brand kit on eBay if you don't mind pre-owned. Check the seller's description very carefully, check their rep, and ask questions if you need to. There are plenty of scammers there, but there's also great deals to be had too.

Further, do not buy the cheap, pro tour knock-off bib shorts on eBay. The pads, stitching, and material are of substandard quality, in my experience. As the jerseys don't take the abuse the shorts do, you can get away with lesser quality there.

Please, only cycle with clean shorts.

Price and durability don't really relate when it comes to shorts. I've had good wear from Pearl Izumi and Performance medium-priced shorts. OTOH, a buddy got an expensive pair of Assos bibs as a gift a couple of years ago. They looked great, but lasted about 6 months.