Quality overview: Trek vs. Giant?

vegasbabee

Mar 20, 2005
Hi , My name is Ken and I'm new here. I haven't bought a bike in about 25 years and alot has changed. Alloy frames! My last cycle was a Takara 10-speed with a lug frame and it was considered a hell of a cycle in it's time. Alas, sombody stole it while I was in college, I graduated , bought a car, and haven't had a 2 wheeler since. I used to rollerblade alot for exercise, but since I moved from the awesome oceanfront bikepaths of Florida to Las Vegas, the desert sun wreaks havoc on the pavement and there just aren't many nice places to skate away from the maniac drivers we have out here (no beaches, obviously), so I'm getting into cycling again.

I have narrowed it down to two choices: a Trek 7300 or a Giant Cypress DX with a 25" frame (I'm a lanky dude). The Trek is slightly more $$ than the Giant and I'd like to know the overal feeling of component quality between these two major bicycle companies.

Thanks everybody!:confused: :)

vegasbabee said:
... and there just aren't many nice places to skate away from the maniac drivers we have out here (no beaches, obviously), so I'm getting into cycling again.
So you think cycling will be a better way to avoid the maniac drivers?! :eek: Stick around on these boards for a while and listen to some of the horror stories that we have to cope with. Unless you have a very controlled environment cycling can be very hazardous to your health. I lived in Atlanta Georgia for 5 years and after about 2 months of trying to play it safe I decided it just wasn't worth it and gave up. Fortunately, where I currently live isn't anywhere near as bad.

I have narrowed it down to two choices: a Trek 7300 or a Giant Cypress DX with a 25" frame (I'm a lanky dude). The Trek is slightly more $$ than the Giant and I'd like to know the overal feeling of component quality between these two major bicycle companies.

Thanks everybody!:confused: :)