Question about calories

westonboege

Jun 9, 2004
I have tried searching all over the internet for a good recommended calorie intake for me, but i cannot find one.

I am relatively new to cycling. I started about 3 months ago. I am currently riding around 125 miles per week at an average pace of 15mph. I am 22 years old and weigh about 170lbs. my question is how much should i be eating? It seems as though i eat all day everyday( i like to eat about 5-6 smaller meals a day) But i feel like i am dead tired all the time. And it seems like i am gaining fat. I have been trying to eat about 2500 calories per day. Is this too low? I would like to lose some fat and i know its best to create an energy deficit of about 500 calories per day. But i cant tell if i am creating a larger deficit than that... and thats why im feeling tired alot, and gaining fat... my body must think its starving and storing all food as fat. Am i correct or no?

Also how many calories could i expect to burn during a 25 mile (about 75min) ride?

sorry for all the questions... ive been very concerned about these questions and just found this message board...

thanks

What you eat is just as important as the amount of calories.
It took me 20 years to figure out what works for me.

1) Eliminate refined carbohydrate from diet. ie, pasta, potatos,rice,cakes, cookies,etc. Ok to have a bowl of cerial in the moring (fiber).

2) eat small frequent meals every 3 hours and eat imeadately after waking.

3) Watch saturated fat intake. No butter.

4) Red meat two times a week ok.

5) Protein sources mainly chicken breast, turkey breast, egg whites.

6) Bring food with you to work in an ice chest

7) eat a couple pieces of fruit a day, eat a lot vegi, salads, a hand ful of almonds.

8) have some mono saturated fats-olive oil, avacado

9) An occassional beer or two on a weekend is ok , more than that will be hard to burn off.