Question about handlebars.

Tember

Oct 20, 2009
I have a hybrid bike that I want to change the handle bars on to make it less hybrid and more road bike. I am new to cycling and not rich to start this off. So I am not looking to spend $500 on a set of handle bars. My challenge is changing the shifters; they are grip shifters and I am not sure how you would change those and how hard it is to get them around the bends. If they won't work; then what do I have to do to adapt so I shift gears? Below are links I like the Ambrosio ones the most, but I am assuming the the Nitto ones will be easier to adapt my current setup with. I am riding a Cannondale Adventure 5. Thank you for any help in advance.

Ambrosio Atritium 1 Aero Bars | Buy Online | ChainReactionCycles.com
BikeSomeWhere.com | Nitto | Handlebars - Track/Pursuit | Nitto RB-018 Pursuit Bicycle Handlebar

Tember said:
I Thank you for any help in advance.
Twist-grip shifters on the drops of the drop bar might work, as well as on the bullhorns, but the result would be so awkward you might want to give up riding.

Look into bar-end or downtube shifters for both applications.

Tember said:
I have a hybrid bike that I want to change the handle bars on to make it less hybrid and more road bike. I am new to cycling and not rich to start this off. So I am not looking to spend $500 on a set of handle bars. My challenge is changing the shifters; they are grip shifters and I am not sure how you would change those and how hard it is to get them around the bends. If they won't work; then what do I have to do to adapt so I shift gears? Below are links I like the Ambrosio ones the most, but I am assuming the the Nitto ones will be easier to adapt my current setup with. I am riding a Cannondale Adventure 5. Thank you for any help in advance.

Ambrosio Atritium 1 Aero Bars | Buy Online | ChainReactionCycles.com
BikeSomeWhere.com | Nitto | Handlebars - Track/Pursuit | Nitto RB-018 Pursuit Bicycle Handlebar