Question about Power Intervals

Discussion in 'Power Training' started by Azikara, Dec 17, 2009.

1. Azikara

Azikara New Member

Folks,

I'm rather new to this so looking for some insight if you don't mind. I'm at the end of my second season of riding and have been mostly riding with fast-ish groups in Chicago. I want to compete in criteriums next year and I will be doing the Cape Town Argus Cycle Tour in March in South Africa. Also want to do a few TTs. Right now I'm in the third week of training on the Chris Carmichael Time Crunched Cyclist program. Basically it's mostly interval training for about 6 hrs a week. I travel extensively for work and right now have my bike in Mumbai (India) in my hotel room. So this program is perfect for me. Riding on the streets in Mumbai is insane.

Unfortunately I do not have a power meter yet. Hoping to find one in my Christmas stocking! I'm 39 and my baseline HR for the 8 min TT is 170 BPM. I only twice seen my HR over 180. I think I have a relatively low HR for the power I'm putting out. OK, not the most reliable, but on an indoor hotel bike, I was holding about 250W for the 8 min TT. I felt very tired after this. It was a hard effort.

The first week is mainly EM (Endurance Miles). I target 146 BPM for this. Then he mixes in SS (Steady State) intervals which I target around 156 BPM. I have found these to be easy. Although the program calls for 8-10 min intervals, I had been able to hold SS for 30-40 mins with relative ease in my second week.

Then came the Over/Unders (3x3 O/U with 6 min RBS) 2 min U / 1 min O. I targeted 156-160 for U and 162-167 O. I LOVE these intervals. They are hard but I feel capable of doing them. In fact, I look forward to them. I have now added one extra set to my last workout and felt perfectly capable.