Question about Risks of Max HR Training

freeagent35

Jan 8, 2005
Is there a doctor in the house? Seriously, I am trying to get a reasonable estimatation of the risks of maximum heart rate training/levels. I suspect that a lot of older riders have similar concerns.

I am 38 and in good physical shape. I am 5'8" and about 175 lbs. I am borderline hypertensive (130 to 135 over 80 to 85 usually). I ride at a moderately high recreational level (CAT 4). I have been an active cyclist since at least my early 20s. When I started training with an HRM (at about 24 years of age) I noticed that my max heart rate seemed to be a little higher than the charts would suggest (about 202). I try to train with an average of about 140 to 160 throughout a ride or trainer session of 1.5 to 2 hours or more, usually with several hard intervals (6 to 10 of 1 to 3 minutes of hard effort up into the 175 to 185 range). I ride about 150 to 250 miles a week consistently throughout the year.

Recently, during the first hard ride of the season, I noticed that I spiked up to about 198 (every season it is this way, people go a little crazy on the first few rides). I did not stay there very long though I spend more time in the 180s than I would have preferred. According to the HR charts, my max should only be about 187. Last year, during a climb, I saw a 193 max effort. Again, I try to stay in redline zones only briefly during sprints, etc. and then relax and recover to a more reasonable zone.

My question is what, realistically, is the risk (probabilty of heart attack or stroke) of operating at such a high level of HR? Is it unusual for a long time recreational athlete to have a HR that is significantly higher than the charts would suggest?