Question about setting goals.

W

WannaBLean

Several questions actually....

1. How important is setting specific goals for weekly losses? I have just been "hoping for a loss"
each week, but from some of your posts I gather that goal-setting is something some of you do
regularly.

2. What do you do if a goal isn't met? I'm kinda hard on myself mentally anyway and don't want to
fall into a negativity trap, as I am prone to do thanks to a rough childhood. How do you "cope"
if you don't reach your goal?

3. How long should it take to "reach a goal"? I don't mean long-term, as I KNOW I will not lose 100
pounds in two months, but say if I wanted to break down that 100 pounds into mini-goals, how do
I go about it? I'm sorry to sound so dumb, but when it comes to weight loss, I am a veteran
failure and I am admitting that I need help. I have already begun visualizing myself at goal
before going to sleep at night and while walking on the treadmill, but I can't just keep "hoping
for a loss" each week and expect to be successful. I know myself too well. Any advice? Anyone?
Thanks in advance.

WW suggests a loss of 1 to 2 pounds per week and that should help you frame a reasonable goal but
also remember that everyone has their own body which may respond to all the patterns and eating and
water and exercise differently. I allowed WW to merely set a 10% goal - that is lose 10% of current,
starting weight. BUT there was no time limit.

It varied from week to week and I was always happy with the result but never really knew what to
expect - at the beginning I did not weigh myself at home so it was always an unknown. (I think I was
one of the lucky ones and possibly unusual in losing something each week)

The actual goal that matched my height was something that was too far away and frankly, I did not
expect to reach it - I thought it was not possible and I just wanted to lose about 20 or 30 pounds