Question on ameteur race scene in Melbourne

Walrus

Apr 4, 2004
I'm new to riding and enjoy working to targets, so I've been thinking about racing locally, but know nothing about it. I hear people say C-Grade, D-Grade etc, but I want to know what standard I need to aim for before thinking about going in such races.

- What format races are these?
- Are there leagues/seasons, multiple grades or regions?
- What the standard of these riders?

I average 100kms a week in Melbourne, usually beach road, eastern suburbs or out to Whittlesea and back. These trips range from 40-80km roundtrips. In a group of 3 or 4, I would average 27-31kmh on these rides of varying flatness.

Can someone give me a bit of a summary of the ameteur race scene in Melbourne

Walrus said:
I'm new to riding and enjoy working to targets, so I've been thinking about racing locally, but know nothing about it. I hear people say C-Grade, D-Grade etc, but I want to know what standard I need to aim for before thinking about going in such races.

I average 100kms a week in Melbourne, usually beach road, eastern suburbs or out to Whittlesea and back. These trips range from 40-80km roundtrips. In a group of 3 or 4, I would average 27-31kmh on these rides of varying flatness.

Can't speak for the Melbourne scene, but I was wondering the same thing as you only a few months ago. Now that I have voluminous racing experience (sic), I can tell you that C and D-grade will normally race for about an hour or so at most venues. On a flat-ish course, the bunch might average 35-38km/h. If you're averaging 31km on 40-80k rides by yourself, you'll probably be able to stay with the bunch. I'd say almost certainly in D-grade on a flat course, only maybe in C-grade over a rolling course. Whether you can win is another matter...

The only way is to have a go. I was afraid of (perceived) embarrassment of being dropped in D-grade. It didn't work out that way...

Go for it,
Ritch

>Walrus
>