Question on commuting

ZeboThePenguin

May 8, 2016
I'm new to this cycling forum but I would love to see everyone's opinion on what gear they wear when it comes to commuting? Do most of you guys just wear a helmet and then proceed with your commutes? Or do you guys wear full gear from top to bottom?
Sorry if this question may sound stupid xD

In Metro Manila in particular, the helmet is a must when using 2-wheels. You can get arrested if you ride without a helmet so those hard-headed riders have learned their lessons to be detained for some hours - having no helmet is not a crime but a traffic violation that can earn you a ticket if you have a license like motorcycles. But for bike riders, a reprimand is in order and detained for some hours is a neat lesson.

You always have to get adequate protection, as you need it in case things go very wrong. You could be hit by a car during these commutes, and you need as much protection as possible to leave an accident with as minimum damage as possible. Helmets, elbow and knee pads, and even reflector vests to be able to be seen by drivers even at night, when you ride around near the road when it starts to get dark. You also need a GPS tracker maybe, just to be sure you get to your destination in one piece. All that, and add a touch of road rules, and you'll be fine during your commutes.

My commute is one hour at a good pace each way, so I ride in all bike-specific clothes. Shower & change at work.
Helmet and bright color clothing during light summer months. Hi-Viz vest and lights the rest of the year.

During my commutes, I think it's most important to be both adequately protected in the event of a crash, as well as adequately advertised. What I mean by the latter is that I prefer to wear highly reflective gear to make sure cars and trucks give me a wide berth so as to avoid an accident. It's easy to find a small backpack that will let you store all of this equipment during the work day.