Questions about Le Tour (or any tour for that matter)

NuSkewl

Jul 14, 2012
Hi-there gang! 1st off..., I don't know if I'm posting in the right place. 2nd...., I'm not a professional cyclist AT ALL, but love watching the races on TV. Le Tour is our favorite. I'm curious how some things are done during and after the stages. I'm hoping you can help me w/some answers.

Here's the 1st of many questions (to come):
When the riders raise their arm/hand, how does their team car know they need assistance?

I thank you all in advance for your time & patience. I'm sure some of our questions are very basic, but we're really curious & hope you can help. We're attending the 100th Tour de France next year. We could also use some pointers/tips about where to stand during stages, how early to get there or other forums about that kind of info would be very welcome!!

Originally Posted by NuSkewl .

Hi-there gang! 1st off..., I don't know if I'm posting in the right place. 2nd...., I'm not a professional cyclist AT ALL, but love watching the races on TV. Le Tour is our favorite. I'm curious how some things are done during and after the stages. I'm hoping you can help me w/some answers.

Here's the 1st of many questions (to come):
When the riders raise their arm/hand, how does their team car know they need assistance?

I thank you all in advance for your time & patience. I'm sure some of our questions are very basic, but we're really curious & hope you can help. We're attending the 100th Tour de France next year. We could also use some pointers/tips about where to stand during stages, how early to get there or other forums about that kind of info would be very welcome!!
By raising his arm, his team know he requires assistance.
Also the neutral service car (car with the Mavic motif) will also go to assist a rider if the riders team car cannot get there first.