Questions About Wheel Swap

Jim Moore

Dec 14, 2010
Hi Guys,

I'm pretty new to this. I have a Specialized Secteur. The guy at the LBS told me that it might be worthwhile to upgrade my wheels. Alexrim S500s came with the bike. I have an 8 speed cassette on the back (is that the right terminology?) I've looked at a couple of wheels on Craigslist. They all say they are for 9-10 speed cassettes. Can I use a wheel like that, or would I have to upgrade a bunch of other stuff at the same time?

As a general note, I'm an OK mechanic and I like to do my own work. I know next to nothing about bikes however. Can you guys recommend a book, something like "How to Take Your Bicycle Apart and Put It Back together"?

8/9/10 speed cassettes all use the same wheel. You do, however, need the wheel hub to be compatible with your cassette. Most hubs are Shimano compatible, but not Campagnolo. So if you have a Shimano cassette, the wheel hub needs to be Shimano compatible.

For books, it's hard to beat "Zinn & the Art of Road Bike Maintenance".

For online instructions, I recommend:
http://www.sheldonbrown.com/
http://www.parktool.com/blog/repair-help

Originally Posted by Jim Moore .

Hi Guys,

I'm pretty new to this. I have a Specialized Secteur. The guy at the LBS told me that it might be worthwhile to upgrade my wheels. Alexrim S500s came with the bike. I have an 8 speed cassette on the back (is that the right terminology?) I've looked at a couple of wheels on Craigslist. They all say they are for 9-10 speed cassettes. Can I use a wheel like that, or would I have to upgrade a bunch of other stuff at the same time?

As a general note, I'm an OK mechanic and I like to do my own work. I know next to nothing about bikes however. Can you guys recommend a book, something like "How to Take Your Bicycle Apart and Put It Back together"?