Questions from Beginner

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

Rob Kirk

Could someone answer me a few questions please- i am new to this mountainbiking. I have a new Marin
Bolinas Ridge;

The rear wheel seems to move by 1 or 2mm side to side when spun, it was like this when new- how much
is allowed?

There are no rubber boots over the front suspension parts that sink into forks when depressed-is
this normal?

My front brake was making an awful scratching noise when in use so i took the brake-blocks off to
find pieces of metal in them-what might have caused this?

Am i ok using wd40 on chain and cogs?

Thanks

"Rob Kirk" <[email protected]> wrote in message
news:[email protected]...
> Could someone answer me a few questions please- i am new to this mountainbiking. I have a new
> Marin Bolinas Ridge;
>
> The rear wheel seems to move by 1 or 2mm side to side when spun, it was
> this when new- how much is allowed?
>
> There are no rubber boots over the front suspension parts that sink into forks when depressed-is
> this normal?
>
> My front brake was making an awful scratching noise when in use so i took the brake-blocks off to
> find pieces of metal in them-what might have
caused
> this?
>
> Am i ok using wd40 on chain and cogs?
>
> Thanks
>

The rear wheel will be allowed to move the total distance between the brake pads.

The boot things have probably sunk into the fork parts!

You'll be just fine with WD40 on your chain. The chain, on the other hand, will soon explode.

The Holiday stress made me do this, but I do feel better.

http://www.marinbikes.com/html/spec_bolinas.html

--
DTW .../\.../\.../\...

I've spent most of my money on mountain biking and windsurfing.
The rest I've just wasted.

D T W .../\... wrote:
> "Rob Kirk" <[email protected]> wrote in message
> news:[email protected]...
>> Could someone answer me a few questions please- i am new to this mountainbiking. I have a new
>> Marin Bolinas Ridge;
>>