Questions regarding diet / training program for charity rides

WildBill_OH

May 18, 2004
Hi all, a newbie to the forum here...looks like a good place for some excellent advice and discussion on all things biking...:D

I'm participating in 2 charity rides next month, the first one is at the beginning of the month for the American Diabetes Assoc and is a 60mi route. I am doing this one first, to prepare for the 150mi 2day (75ea day) MS Bike to the Bay at the end of June.

Last year I did the MS 150 and had several problems completing the first day and ended up not doing the second day return trip. I did complete the first day, but man was I beat and sore. I've since learned a few of my mistakes and have made changes in regards to equipment, shoes, etc...but am concerned about my training and diet plans for this years events.

I've been low-carbing for 1 1/2 yrs...dropped almost 70lbs down to ~250 currently in that time frame. I stopped low carbing last week as I know I will need carbs to complete these events not to mention just for the training. I'm 6' 3" and am looking to lose approx 20 more lbs before the end of June and eventually get down to 220 as my target goal.

I've been working out at Bally's fairly regularly over the past 1 1/2 yrs and have cranked it up a notch over the past 6 weeks...I try to work out 5 days a week w/ 1 hr of cardio (1/2 hr eliptical @ 152bpm and 1/2hr upright bike same hr) plus do 1/2 hr of weight / strength training varying upper and lower every other day with a day rest for both.

My question is, what should I be concentrating on in regards to exercise and diet? I'm trying to watch what I eat and know my rmr is around 2000 cal/ day and I'm shaving at least 900 cal during the workouts.

I've also been biking, and substituting 30mi rides for a day of cardio when the weather permits. Right now my main bike is at the shop getting upgraded, hopefully I will get it back by tomorrow to get some quality saddle time.