Race ready statistics and CTL

ranger11a

Oct 4, 2011
Thanks guys for all of the informative posts.

I have a question about my FTP, Performance Management Chart statistics, and prep for racing. Based on my numbers in the performance management chart and 4 more weeks to prep, am I on track to be competitive in Men's CAT 5?

My first race (Criterium series) will start on February 25. I have been training with a Cycleops PowerTap for approximately 3 months. Unfortunately a bike wreck and hand surgery derailled my training in December, but I am back on the bike and working hard to get ready to race.

I am a CAT 5 beginning rider (37 years old).

My current Power Profile looks like this:
5 Sec: 1096 watts (14 w/kg)
1 min: 512 watts (6.4w/kg)
5 min: 340 watts (4.3 w/kg)
20 min: 267 watts (3.4 w/kg)
60 min: 245 watts (3.2 w/kg)

My performance management chart has me at +0.9 Training Stress Balance, Acute Training Load (ATL) of 79.7 and Chronic Training Load (CTL) of 58.3.

Cat5 is not about being competitive. It is about gaining experience by finishing 10 races.

According to a chart that is commonly referenced you have power numbers at the top of Cat5 or middle of Cat4. That may or may not be a good indicator depending on how you train.

---

The best method of determining if you will be competitive is to do training rides with the local racers.