Raleigh Grand Sport--good starter bike?

norcio

Sep 30, 2007
Hey all, I am totally new to the cycling scene but can't wait to get into it. I have been taking spin classes at the gym for the past year ever since my girlfriend began teaching them... but for some reason I have a difficult time doing cardio exercise indoors. So about 3 months ago i decided to look into purchasing a road bike and get into the sport. Now that I have the cash to buy one, I'm looking for a little advice :)

I went to the local bike shop where I live because I have heard a lot of good things about the shop and the owner. It also seems that a lot of the riders in my hometown like to buy from there as well. I explained to the store owner that I wanted to get a better-that-average, entry level bicycle under $1000. I was on the track team in college (just graduated in May) so I explained to him that I'm in pretty good shape already, and have decent endurance. So with those details in mind, he recommended the Raleigh Grand Sport double.

http://www.raleighusa.com/items.asp?deptid=5&itemid=414

I've been searching the internet for reviews on this bike, but can't find anything that helps. Does anyone have experience with this bike, or know anything about it? I like to do my homework on purchases like this, so any advice is welcome and appreciated. Thanks!

Forgot some details:

• $899 for the bike (original price $1100)
  • mentioned that this model had an Ultegra rear derailer (which for some reason doesn't show up on the website)
  • He fitted me, I got to test ride it, but really have nothing to compare it to :confused:
Thanks for the feedback!

I haven't used the Grand Sport 2008 that you mentioned which seems to be great.