Rans Rocket - knee interference

Status
Not open for further replies.

Arthur Yeates

Jun 2, 2003
I have a new 2003 Rans Rocket with the handlebars set "forwards". My knee interferes with (strikes) the bar while pedaling. Will rotating the bars to place the curve at the top of the handlebar stem facing the rear improve the situation? Any other fixes available. I am 6'-0" tall and this interference seems unreasonable.

This is my second Rocket and I also ride a Rans V2. I am not a novice. The Rocket is my commuter "rat" bike.

Originally posted by Arthur Yeates
I have a new 2003 Rans Rocket with the handlebars set "forwards". My knee interferes with (strikes) the bar while pedaling. Will rotating the bars to place the curve at the top of the handlebar stem facing the rear improve the situation? Any other fixes available. I am 6'-0" tall and this interference seems unreasonable.

This is my second Rocket and I also ride a Rans V2. I am not a novice. The Rocket is my commuter "rat" bike.

Isn't there a height adjustment at the bottom of the risor, similar to that on a V-Rex? Two Allen head screws and I think you can gain some height on the risor.

:)

I'm 6-3 and don't get interferance. I'm kind of a tinkerer and I still experiment with my seat
position/angle and bars to see how things will work out.

Can you extend the bars toward you a bit more? As I got my bike, I was able to get another 1/2 to
3/4 inch length out of the riser and still have a comfortable safety margin to tighten them up.

Arthur Yeates wrote:
> I have a new 2003 Rans Rocket with the handlebars set "forwards". My knee interferes with
> (strikes) the bar while pedaling. Will rotating the bars to place the curve at the top of the
> handlebar stem facing the rear improve the situation? Any other fixes available. I am 6'-0" tall
> and this interference seems unreasonable.
>
> This is my second Rocket and I also ride a Rans V2. I am not a novice. The Rocket is my commuter
> "rat" bike.
>