RANS Vivo fork options...

Status
Not open for further replies.
F

Floyd Sense

I've been riding a 2002 Vivo for 10 months now and am satisfied with my current setup except for the
pronounced "nose bob" that occurs when cranking up a hill. Since 99.9% of my riding is on hard
surface roads, I'm thinking about other fork options. One thought was to try a standard unsuspended
fork as used on the Rocket. The other option was to try a suspended fork, such as a MEKS, that has
some sort of damping action, but that's a rather expensive experiment. Has anyone else experimented
with other forks on this bike and what would you suggest?

FS in Angier, NC

Floyd: I use the MEKS and it is great, but I can understand if you think it is to expensive. Two
things to try short of replacing your fork, one, work on a smother pedal stroke, and, two, if the
fork used on the 2002 has a preload adj. try tighten it up a bit, with a high preload the shock will
not work as well for small bumps but will still soak up the potholes you don't see.

Mark

"Floyd Sense" <[email protected]> wrote in message
news:[email protected]...
> I've been riding a 2002 Vivo for 10 months now and am satisfied with my current setup except for
> the pronounced "nose bob" that occurs when
cranking
> up a hill. Since 99.9% of my riding is on hard surface roads, I'm
thinking
> about other fork options. One thought was to try a standard unsuspended fork as used on the
> Rocket. The other option was to try a suspended fork, such as a MEKS, that has some sort of
> damping action, but that's a rather expensive experiment. Has anyone else experimented with other
> forks on
this
> bike and what would you suggest?
>
> FS in Angier, NC

Are you using the MEKS on a Vivo, and if so, do you have any "nose bob" at all? Did you have any
before going to the MEKS? The RST fork used on the 2002 Vivo is apparently not bad for a 130 lb.
person. I'm 195 and have the stiffest springs in the fork, but it's still too soft (maybe not for