Realistic expectations for the life of an ally frame.

Status
Not open for further replies.
P

Paul

I'm new to cycling and have heard a fair bit of discussion on the fatigue life of aluminium frames.
The frame of my bike is plain guage 7005 T6 and comes with a 3 year guarantee. I have seen some
manufacturers providing only 2 year guarantees on similar frames and at least 1 manufacturer that
offers a lifetime guarantee on 7005 frames (there are similar variations on steel frames too).

I was wondering what would be a realistic expectation for aluminium frames in general and the frame
on my bike in particular. I do a lot of on-road miles and a far bit on rought country tracks but
keep everything clean and in good repair.

It would be good to have a rough idea of the life expectancy of the frame to know whether it's worth
spending money of component improvements etc.for my current bike or just putting the money aside for
a new bike purchase every 4 or 5 years.

Thanks for any thoughts, Paul.

"Paul" <[email protected]> wrote in message news:[email protected]...
> I'm new to cycling and have heard a fair bit of discussion on the fatigue life of aluminium
> frames. The frame of my bike is plain guage 7005 T6 and comes with a 3 year guarantee. I have seen
> some manufacturers providing
only
> 2 year guarantees on similar frames and at least 1 manufacturer that
offers
> a lifetime guarantee on 7005 frames (there are similar variations on steel frames too).
>
> I was wondering what would be a realistic expectation for aluminium frames in general and the
> frame on my bike in particular. I do a lot of on-road miles and a far bit on rought country tracks
> but keep everything clean and in good repair.
>
> It would be good to have a rough idea of the life expectancy of the frame
to
> know whether it's worth spending money of component improvements etc.for
my
> current bike or just putting the money aside for a new bike purchase every
> or 5 years.
>