Realistic Goal Setting

metgt4

Jun 5, 2010
Hey All,

I'm new to training with power (or training with an actual plan to be honest!) and am working on setting some goals for this time next year. I'm just wondering if my goals are within reach or if I'm dreaming and should aim for something more attainable.

Goal:
Weight - 165 lbs
FTP - 300 W
Power/Weight - 4.01 W/Kg

Current:
Weight - 180 lbs
FTP - 253 W
Power/Weight - 3.06 W/Kg

So as far as power gains go, I would like to increase my power by 18.5% in 12 months, but with the weight loss, I would like to increase my power to weight ratio by almost 25%! Is this attainable in one year, or should I lower my power goal (I know I can lose the weight. I've got some to spare!)

Thanks!
Andrew

Your goals seem reasonable if you've just begun structured training and haven't been riding steadily all that long. But FWIW I generally steer away from goals that are beyond my control. IOW, you may or may not take your FTP to 300 watts in a year and you might want to be careful about defining success or failure of your training plan based on a goal like that.

It sounds like your weight goal is reasonable if you're not already very lean and since you'll be well under the standard recommended 1 to 1.5 pounds per week weight loss limit you should be able to safely hit that goal while still training hard. So that goal seems attainable and well under your control even with some setbacks along the way.

Have you thought about setting weekly and monthly goals such as training hours or number of 2x20 sessions or a couple of big landmark rides or races in addition to or as an alternative to a fixed wattage goal?

Anyway, your goal seems reasonable depending on your background in cycling (less would be better to raise your FTP by nearly 20% in a year), your available time to train, how well you structure your plan and of course the genetic hand you were dealt which is the big unknown.

Good luck and keep us posted on your progress,
-Dave