Really newbie questions

FlyMeToTheMoon

May 21, 2006
Hi there,

I'm really a newbie to roadbikes. I have always been riding a mountain bike for leisure but recently I have gotten more seriously with biking and got myself a new roadbike with flat bar. My problem is that I have always changed gears according to the "leg power feel" and I think that is not correct.

Can someone give me a guidance on what are the correct gears I should actually for different terrains? I have tried various combinations on my new bike but I do not know what is wrong as my max speed is only 27km/h and average 15-20km when I can go faster. I realise my bike spin out of control when I try to speed up to the speed that I want to go. I really need a re-education on bikes. Is there some website I can go to read about gears and stuff like this?

You need to learn to spin. Gradually increase cadence to 88-94 and over time strength at those cadences will develop.

A road bike should have a 52-12 top gear for 700c wheels. That is fast enough for everyone. :)

Gclark8 is right, change gears to maintain your cadance. Do you have a computer that measures cadance? Polar Cs200CAD does and cound be found on EBAY for about $130.00 :p

Here are my bike specs: A Scott Speedster S60FB Flat Bar

Alloy tubing; Roadster geometry; 7005 Alloy P.G.; Integrated Headtube; Fender compatible

Alloy; 1 1/8 " Steel steerer; Integrated

Integreadet Steel Cup

Shimano RD 2200; 24 Speed

Shimano FD - R443 F

Shimano ST - R223; 24 Speed
Scott Sport SCBR 510 A; 41-56 mm Scott Sport L

Suntour Sport; 30/42/52 T

TH - BB 7420 ST

Scott X - Rod; 580 mm

Scott Roadster; 1-1/8" / Double Bolt

Scott Alloy 31.6mm

Scott Road

F: Scott Sport; R: Scott Sport

KMC Z - 72

Shimano CN-HG50-8; 12-25 T

14 G Stainless; silver 2 mm

Alex - R 500/32 H Black

Maxxis Colombiere 700 x 25 C