Rear wheel R:L spoke tension ratio -- is it really ) 2:1 ???

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

Chuck

I'm a complete newby at making wheels, and I need help on one point.

In reading Jobst Brandt's "The Bicycle Wheel", it tells how asymmetry makes spokes on the right side
of a typical rear wheel (which has an 8 speed cassette in my case) at least twice as tight as ones
on the left.

In reading the instructions on my new Park tension meter, it claims that the recommended tension for
spokes can be as low as 80Kgf , and as high as 130Kgf. If I were to maintain the typical > 2:1 ratio
in order to center the rear wheel, this doesn't fit within the 80/130 range recommended by Park.

To maintain this 2:1 ratio to center the wheel, one thing I could do is make the average tension on
the left side of the wheel less than 65Kgf (which is what I'm doing now), with the right side being
the max of 130Kgf.

Alternatively, I could make the average tension on the right side greater than 160 Kgf, with the
left side being Park's min of 80 Kgf.

Finally, I could also split the difference (70/140).

I'm probably over-analyzing this, but I want to do the right thing to have the most robust wheel.
What do I do???

Thanks, Chuck

"Chuck" <[email protected]> wrote in message news:<[email protected]>...
> I'm a complete newby at making wheels, and I need help on one point.
>
> In reading Jobst Brandt's "The Bicycle Wheel", it tells how asymmetry makes spokes on the right
> side of a typical rear wheel (which has an 8 speed cassette in my case) at least twice as tight as
> ones on the left.
>
> In reading the instructions on my new Park tension meter, it claims that the recommended tension
> for spokes can be as low as 80Kgf , and as high as 130Kgf. If I were to maintain the typical >
> 2:1 ratio in order to center the rear wheel, this doesn't fit within the 80/130 range recommended
> by Park.
>