Recommend a budget bike to accomodate the following:

pappaseb1117

Jun 26, 2010
Hi to all,

My name is Sebastian & I'm new here. I'm an athlete/body builder looking to buy a bike to get to/from the gym. Few days ago I decided I would like to cycle to the gym (about 20-30) min one way instead of driving. This way I'd get my warmp/cardio/body conditioning in before/after the workouts.

Unfortunately, I'm on a high budget for this. I know it comes down to "you get what you pay for" but I'm not a professional cyclist I'm just looking for a bike that will get to the gym & back while giving me a good run.

I don't care about the "ride" quality that much; I have a high tolerance. I need a bike that will be used at least 5 days out of the week with 1 hour total time of cycling per day.

You guys might laugh but I'd like to keep this under $400. Like I said I'm not looking for anything "professional" as I just don't have the money to fish-out on a bike but I don't want anything "Target" cheap either.

Hopefully you guys will be able to help me out! Thanks!
-Sebastian

The Schwinn Circuit, a road bike, is about the $570 range, but wait till September and your local bike shops will have year end close outs. Some LBS's have a few of last years models lying around yet and you could pick up a deal with one of those if you need a bike sooner.

Froze said:
The Schwinn Circuit, a road bike, is about the $570 range, but wait till September and your local bike shops will have year end close outs. Some LBS's have a few of last years models lying around yet and you could pick up a deal with one of those if you need a bike sooner.
I don't think the OP should have to wait until September ...

The 2010 bikes in most LBSes should go on sale at the beginning of July (i.e., very soon!) if they haven't already been reduced in price ... on sale, I reckon a 2010 bike should sell for 20% less (or, even less) than the MSRP ...

A NOS 2009, should be ~30% less ... a NOS 2008 should be ~40% less.