recommend me a bike....help a noobie :-)

stevo_125

Feb 2, 2005
first post so, hi everyone:)

well i bike an awful lot on and off road. i've been doing around 6 miles a day, every day for the last 5 years cos of school/college. BUT.... i never really had a decent bike:(. My current bike is a raleigh tigershark (isync 266 fork) its an o.k bike for road use, but long distances or of road and it sucks... slow gear changes, sluggish, tempermental brakes. all the rest of it !

now i've finally decided to get a new bike, preferably a MTB, got around £200 to spend, £250 absolute max... i know that wont get me anything special, but suggestions on something reasonable + easy enough to upgrade.
at the mo im looking at the claud butler "rock" 2004 model, or the diamondback m20.
the CB bike has deore gears, but pretty standard v-breaks, not sure about the DB, the guy in a local bike store suggested it too me. both bikes have suntour XC60 front shock.

steve.

how much is 200 pounds in american cash? If possible i would look at cannondales. Also if possible get a lefty. once u ride a bike with a lefty u wont want 2 ride anything else!

The cannondale Prophet is one hell of a bike and it's available at a variety of prices...TJ
stevo_125 said:
first post so, hi everyone:)

well i bike an awful lot on and off road. i've been doing around 6 miles a day, every day for the last 5 years cos of school/college. BUT.... i never really had a decent bike:(. My current bike is a raleigh tigershark (isync 266 fork) its an o.k bike for road use, but long distances or of road and it sucks... slow gear changes, sluggish, tempermental brakes. all the rest of it !

now i've finally decided to get a new bike, preferably a MTB, got around £200 to spend, £250 absolute max... i know that wont get me anything special, but suggestions on something reasonable + easy enough to upgrade.
at the mo im looking at the claud butler "rock" 2004 model, or the diamondback m20.