Recovering from a Wreck (not just physically)

jhodder

Mar 3, 2004
I've been riding for about 6 months and have made steady progress to date. I've lost over 60 lbs (down to 6'2" 175lbs.) and can keep-up with competitive racers on rides. I've grown to love cycling and look forward all week to my weekend rides. My current problem is this:

Last weekend I was out with a large pack of racers that average in the mid-to-high 20mph for the 60 mile ride. After about 27 miles, there was a bad pileup in the group. I guess that two people went down hard near the middle of the pack taking others down with them. In the seconds before I hit them, I had slowed to approx. 20mph and braced myself so I was not as badly hurt.

I don't know how this type of a wreck compares, but it seemed bad to me. One guy hit his face hard on the pavement, and another was taken away on a stretcher. There was lots of blood, broken bikes, and panic. Luckily I rode away with some minor cuts, bruises, and a bruised rib. (To top it all off I got swiped by a car pulling into a grocery store on the way home)

Here's my problem... since the wreck, I have lost a lot of the joy I had for riding. The danger seems to have hit home, and I don't know how to deal with it psychologically. I have two kids under 5 and am questioning whether it is wise to take that type of risk for what is essentially a hobby.

How have the rest of you managed to deal with similar situations? How often does this type of wreck occur?

Please share your similar stories and advice (more how you dealt with it afterwards).

Thanks for your insight.

I have a friend whom is a Psychologist and he hates to fly. Everytime he gets on a plane he thinks that he will die. How does he handle this? Over time he has learnt to not 'trust his feelings'. While the fear is real (to him) there is no danger.