Recumbent stability

blacktom

Nov 1, 2003
I am a newcomer to recumbents and I am having difficulty riding my new Lightning P 38 in a straight line.

I have been touring and racing uprights for 50 years and this is my first (and long awaited) venture into recumbents. I now have ridden 100 miles and have tried adjusting the tilt steering, with some slight improvement, but I still feel unsafe.

Is it something that will come to me in time or am I missing something obvious?

Brian.

Originally posted by blacktom
I am a newcomer to recumbents and I am having difficulty riding my new Lightning P 38 in a straight line.

Brian.

Brian,

A lot of what you learned in 50 years will be useful. However.........

Riding a bicycle where "body english" is not an option requires developing a whole NEW set of reflexes.

Don't be discouraged. You should see daily improvement. 100 miles is not enough time. You should be a confident, cocky, overbearing, outspoken, veteran recumbent rider in about 2 to 3 thousand miles like I have become. When I first started, I was a "crashing bore" and now I am just a "bore". In about 5K more miles or a long tour I should make it to "colossal bore".

The P38 or any SWB will be a little more difficult to master than something like a Tour Easy, but you will succeed. (lighten up on the death grip and settle back and relax).

Keep up the miles,

Jerry:D

Brian: it's something that you will get use to. a lot of newbie benters have had this same problem
it comes from over reacting at times because the handling is a lot different from upwrights,or as
some of us bent riders say UPWRONGS and WEDGIES.once you get use to it you may not go back to the
uright. Thank you Earl GRR,RANS V2 Ti Rush,Ti Pursuit

blacktom wrote:
>
> Is it something that will come to me in time or am I missing something obvious?

Both myself and my girlfriend had the same experience at first. Like you, we were both avid