Rehydration and salts...

Discussion in 'Cycling Training' started by TheNiceGuy, Aug 2, 2005.

1. TheNiceGuy

TheNiceGuy New Member

Is there a basic drink formula that works? I am doing as lot of riding with only water at the moment, which apparently isn't that great. Where I live there are a few 'sport drink' mixes that are cheap, but I don't know what ingredients are best. Any rule of thumb?

Tags:

2. steve egner

steve egner New Member

I like E-fuel.

Their web site runs an interesting comparison between their sport drink and a number of other popular choices.

http://www.cranksports.com/

I've been riding with it for a couple of years now.

Good luck,

Steve

3. TheNiceGuy

TheNiceGuy New Member

thx buddy, but i couldnt find any comparison charts there.

For example, 1 cheap one I got here is:
    Na+ :21 (mEq/l)
    K+ :5
    Ca2+ :1
    Mg2+ :0.5

Cl- :16
    citrate3- :10
    lactate- :1
    Now to be honest- I got no idea what all this means. Is it good or crap?

4. X20

X20 New Member

I like a product called crap and thought i'd spam everyone

5. dhk

dhk New Member

I use the Gatorade powder, and add extra salt for summer. Just 1/4 tsp in a 750 ml (25 oz) water bottle adds about 600 mg of salt to the basic Gatorade. Find the extra salt takes away the sticky-sweetness of Gatorade, and seems to help me in summer.

Or for home-made, you can just mix sugar and salt into water. The best concentration of CHO is supposed to be 6%, or 60 grams/liter of water. (That's 240 calories). Sucrose (cane sugar) is the main sugar in Gatorade. You can squeeze some lemon or lime in for flavor too.

For a less-sweet taste, try Karo Corn syrup. Believe that contains a mix of dextrose and fructose. It's 15 grams of CHO/Tablespoon, so 4 Tbsp in a liter gives you the magic 6%. That, and 1/4-1/2 tsp of salt (~1000 mg) should be about right.

6. Roadie_scum

Roadie_scum New Member