Relationship between wear on bike rims and braking performance

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

David Dowding

I am a Mechanical engineering student at the University of the West of England, for my final year
project I am investigating how braking performance of a bicycle is affected by the amount of wear on
the rim. i have set up a test rig with a wheel turned by a motor (weighted with lead to get
momentum) and will be measuring the time taken to stop the wheel when a brake is applied with a
known force. If anyone has any comments on this subject they would be very much apprecieated, or if
anyone knows of any other research into this subject it would be very useful. Thanks Dave

David Dowding wrote:

> I am a Mechanical engineering student at the University of the West of England, for my final year
> project I am investigating how braking performance of a bicycle is affected by the amount of wear
> on the rim. i have set up a test rig with a wheel turned by a motor (weighted with lead to get
> momentum) and will be measuring the time taken to stop the wheel when a brake is applied with a
> known force. If anyone has any comments on this subject they would be very much apprecieated, or
> if anyone knows of any other research into this subject it would be very useful.

The main factor will be whether the rim is anodised or not. You get much better wet braking when
it's all been ground off.

Oh yeah, and don't use a chromed steel rim - they last a few years longer than the age of
the Universe.

On 22 Jan 2004 03:44:12 -0800, [email protected] (David Dowding)
may have said:

>I am a Mechanical engineering student at the University of the West of England, for my final year
>project I am investigating how braking performance of a bicycle is affected by the amount of wear
>on the rim. i have set up a test rig with a wheel turned by a motor (weighted with lead to get
>momentum) and will be measuring the time taken to stop the wheel when a brake is applied with a