replacing a front derailer... help and suggestions needed

mdbrown

Jul 10, 2004
i bought a 2005 trek 1000 almost 2 months ago now and i've been riding around 120 miles a week. the only upgrade i've done is replace the stock pedals with look clipless pedals. one good thing trek did for the new 2005 1000 was upgrade the rear derailleur from sora to tiagra but they downgraded the front derailleur to a shimano 2203. that thing is a piece of ****. it's got a sora triple crankset and the 2203 is pretty much useless if i ever want to move up or down in gears. the rear derailleurs works like a charm but i just don't see why shimano even makes a front derailleur this bad. now maybe it's just difficult to change gears on all front derailleurs but i find that hard to believe. so i've decided to take the 2203 off and replace it with something much better. i can get a 105 triple braze on for around $20 and an ultegra triple braze on for around $30. first of all i'm new to cycling so i've not done any mechanical work on a bike before and i'm also wondering if it's worth the extra $10 to go with the ultegra over the 105. if anyone has guides on how to replace a front derailleur and suggestions on the 105 or ultegra i'd be quite grateful for the info. thanks for all the help. :)

mdbrown said: