Replacing bottom bracket help

StUpId8000

Jul 18, 2016
Bike broke about 4 months ago. Got lazy and now deciding to fix it. Cheap Kent built bike. 26" full suspension . I need to get a new bottom bracket. I'm new to this kinda. I was able to find its 68 x 120 from emailing someone at Kent. There was nothing stamped anywhere on the bike. The one I took out is just like this.
$_3.jpg

Not sure what style this is other then cheap. What would be an inexpensive upgrade/replacement?

Reactions: Iftikhar422
How about a trip to your local bicycle shop? They'll be able to replace your BB for a reasonable fee.

Reactions: Iftikhar422
How about a trip to your local bicycle shop? They'll be able to replace your BB for a reasonable fee.

I can replace it myself, wasn't really that hard to removed. Just not sure if I can replace with just any BB. I took it apart to replace the crankset. Cheap thing bent on me. So I thought I would just replace the BB also with a full set. I'm just a bit new to the terms. I was told its a 68 x 120. Thats diameter by width? Do I have to stay with taper or can I get an external? I just see that there are different types so wanted to ask 1st.

Looking to just get something like this.
[url=http://tinyurl.com/zuypkd8/]amazon[/URL]

Last edited:
68 == bottom bracket shell width
== bottom bracket spindle length

Any 118mm or 120mm square taper, Cartridge Bottom Bracket will do ...

You will want the appropriate "Shimano" cartridge BB tool.​

The driveside BB cup has a right hand thread ...

The non-driveside BB cup has a left hand thread.

It is 'probably just a cheap English threaded bottom bracket. 'Probably'. Cheap bikes sometimes do no follow any accepted standards or use a partially standard component.

Here is everything you need to know about BB's if you want to replace it yourself.
http://www.sheldonbrown.com/bbsize.html