Respacing a 130mm hub to 135mm.

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by jimmylondon, Jan 3, 2011.

  1. jimmylondon

    jimmylondon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh dear, cracked my alu 'cross frame! Big nasty crack where the downtube meets the headtube. Luckily noticed before the whole thing fell apart with me on top of it!

    Should be getting a warranty replacement but it'll have a 135mm rear end, not 130mm like the old one. I consider that to be a good thing (not that I've had problems with 130mm but wouldn't say no to a stronger wheel) except that the hub I'm using is spaced for 130.

    It is a Veloce rear hub from about 2008, you can see it in detail on page 72 here:

    http://www.campagnolo.com/repository/documenti/en/Spares08_B_1007.pdf

    Does anyone know if this can be respaced to the wider size? If not, what are the options for a campy freehub with 135mm spacing? I'm thinking White Industries can probably do it but a little out of my price range. Might end up having to go for an XT hub with a J-tek shiftmate but would rather not if can be avoided since over time I have quite a collection of Campy cassettes!

    Cheers for any help,
    Jimmy.
     
    Tags:


  2. jimmylondon

    jimmylondon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Should mention: I found this thread which suggests it is possible to change the axle but I'm not sure if this applies to my hub:

    http://www.cyclingforums.com/forum/thread/373792/using-130mm-hubs-in-135mm-spaced-frame
     
  3. champion118

    champion118 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. alfeng

    alfeng Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,723
    Likes Received:
    126
    If your hub has an alloy axle, then I don't think that it can be easily respaced.

    As I mentioned in the other post, I have a "big bell" Mirage hub which has a 135mm O.L.D. steel axle (it's based on the late 90s vintage Record hub) + a 10-speed Freehub body.

    I think I got it from Wheel & Sprocket (Wisconsin) ...
     
  5. jimmylondon

    jimmylondon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think I've found the most cost effective way to get a Campagnolo compatible 135mm hub. Novatec's F742SB-AA with the Campagnolo axle cap and freehub body from F582SB Links: http://www.novatec.com.tw/novatec/english/p_show.php?sid=313 http://www.novatec.com.tw/novatec/english/p_show.php?sid=326 Other combinations probably work too. Novatec hubs are pretty good.
     
  6. jimmylondon

    jimmylondon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Found this page, though I might as well post it here, looks like a really nice way to make 135mm campy, in theory at least if you can get one made or are handy that way.

    http://www.users.on.net/~njpayne/bikestuff/campag135/
     
  7. alfeng

    alfeng Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,723
    Likes Received:
    126
    That is elegant ... a bit extreme ...

    FWIW. I've worked out a much EASIER, DIY method which can be used on recent Centaur, Veloce & Mirage hubs ...

    • I'm not sure if the FH-BO027 & the FH-MI027 are interchangeable, or not ...

    I'll cobble up an example when I get the chance ... no promises as to when I'll get around to it.
     
Loading...
Loading...