Returned my Bicycle Today....

Edudbor

Aug 19, 2007
It purchased a Fuji Roubaix road bicycle 28 days ago (it came with a 30 day return policy).

As a totaly newbie, I started by riding around the block and what not to build up to the 11 miles I'd have to go each way to work and home; but my plan was always to commute to work. Finally, after 3 weeks of practice - doing 4-5 miles at a time; I decided to just go ahead and do the whole 11.

I got about 6 miles, then I had a flat.

It was my back tire, and I have no experience with bicycle repair...but I did switch it out (only to find out that my pump didn't work). A 5 mile walk later, I got to work and had some bike guys help me out. They inflated the tire and told me it seemed 'wrong' and that the tire wasn't "sitting correctly". I did manage to ride home though - it was great. I really enjoyed it.

I took it to the bike shop the next day (Saturday)...and they told me to was fixed on Sunday. They said it was a 'no charge' because it was something they screwed up. They said the rim-tape (I think?) they used was wrong or something. Another guy, with my same bike, had the exact same problem with his tire. I don't know if that's why I got a flat or not though.

So, today (Monday) I'm all pumped for my ride in to work. This time I had the correct pump (just in case) and all that jazz. I rode 2 miles and then my back tire went flat. No glass, rocks, screws, nails or anything in sight. The road was perfectly flat, no bumps or anything.

I took it back for a return because I only had 2 days more to do so...but I really liked the bicycle.

Can you guys tell me what you think was going on? There are little rocks and pebbles along the shoulder of the roads where I ride (I go from small town to slightly bigger town and there isn't much in between)....are road bikes not able to handle that? Or does it sound like I've just got a bad bicycle? They did admit that 'something' was wrong; maybe they didn't really fix it?