Review: Specialized 'Element 2.0' Gloves

CAMPYBOB

Sep 12, 2005
They suck.

Junk.

Worthless. Over-priced. Junk.

"Windstopper" / Packaging Wind Rating (5)
No. Not even.
Junk. Trash. Beyond garbage. Way beyond.

"Rated to 32° / Package F" Warmth Rating (4)
Like the Hell it is. It was 32° when I started riding this afternoon in the sun and my hands froze WITH wool glove liners inside these worthless excuses for cycling gloves. And no, my hands were not sweating.

Every time I turned into the head wind I could feel...or maybe NOT FEEL...my fingers going numb. Every time I turned out of the wind I regained some feeling in my numb fingers.

My rating: SAVE YOUR MONEY! Go to Wally World or Tractor Supply or Menards and buy 5 pairs of decent winter gloves for the same money. The big box store gloves work as well or better than these.

at $65 USD you'd expect them to be decent quality.
specialized-element-2.0-gloves-225385-01.8.jpg

I paid $60 and they are going right back to Spesh. Utter garbage when compared to the $1.99 (on sale) el cheap ski gloves I buy at Menards. And those ski gloves are on sale for $1.99 right now. I think I'll go buy 5 more pairs tomorrow for a 10-spot. Wear a pair for a couple weeks and then toss them into the wash and use them around the farm or stash them in the various vehicles for tire-changing work, snow shoveling or such.

The Element 2.0 claims 140 grams of Thinsulate insulation. My Tractor Supply Rubberized fabric winter glove cost $9.95 on after Christmas sale, have 200 grams of Thinsulate, rubberized stuff that really does block the wind and gauntlet cuffs w/draw strap that prevent gaps at the jersey cuff.

The Element gloves won't even close the inadequate Velcro wrist closure with the liners worn inside the gloves. The gloves also have a short cuff. Great for styling at the coffee shop, not so hot (or cold?) when your base layer and/or jersey sleeves pull up while on the bike.