Rides in Phoenix, AZ?

Renae

Aug 8, 2003
I'm looking for a place to ride in Phoenix, AZ. I am just beginning, and am primarily riding in North Phoenix, but am looking for a place that I can ride for distance/time that is bike friendly (by myself).
I am riding a MTB (on the road, no trails)...but looking/saving for a road bike.
Thanks!

Originally posted by Renae
I'm looking for a place to ride in Phoenix, AZ. I am just beginning, and am primarily riding in North Phoenix, but am looking for a place that I can ride for distance/time that is bike friendly (by myself).
I am riding a MTB (on the road, no trails)...but looking/saving for a road bike.
Thanks!

Great riding over in Fountain Hills in the state park. Simply take Shea all the way out then go left on Palisades, take another left at the bottom of the hill, I forget the name of the road. That will take you out to the park. Call Bicycle Ranch in Scottsdale for ride info, ask for Glenn (owner) or Doug. Good guys. I lived out that way for a couple of years, but transfered back to the midwest. have fun.

Thanks!

Depending on where in the North Phoenix area you live here are a few more options. Cave Creek Road once you get pass Union Hills. The Bicycle Ranch every Saturday morning has a ride out to Carefree via Scottsdale Road (still great any time) that starts on Frank Lloyd Wright aka Bell Road. I haven't checked out this last one - but past Sun City on Bell Road there is supposed to be a nice 20 mile stretch with hardly any traffic. My normal one is up 19th ave to Happy Valley road - hang a right and it will drop you back on 7th street (unfortunatly they are doing some road construction and it is only a two lane road for the most part) Let me know if you find some others as I am always looking for another area. Thanks