Riding In Traffic...

Discussion in 'Road Cycling' started by cgianni, Aug 3, 2003.

1. cgianni

cgianni New Member

Hi, I'm new to the sport and have been biking to work. I have asserted myself on the road approx 1 meter from the curb or so...
    but MAN! it's so dangerous, cars go flying by me FAST AND CLOSE!
    It seems to be very dangerous, and I fear for my safety at times. Do you guys go through the same thing? It's just a matter of time (it seems to me) that an idiot will run me down.
    Your thoughts on this???
    Thanks

Tags:

2. scolen2

scolen2 New Member

For the last 11 years I have been the preditor (Car)

For the last year I have been the preditor and the prey (Motorcycle)

Now I'm just the prey as I'm riding my bicycle to work every day.

I'll be honest and say that tight twistys are for motor vehicles only, I hate comming around a corner and fearing that a bike is at 1/4 of my pace and possibly in the middle of the road. That being said I understand why cyclist want to ride these roads.. They're fun! But knowing both sides, when I ride a bicycle I will never ride on a blind twisty road! When I'm on pace and I accually can see a bike early enough I will plan my line around you, and it will feel closer to you then it really is. That being said, you have to keep an eye out for the cars too.

I guess we're all responsible for each others safty, A driver has to be aware of the bicycle, and the bicycle has to be aware of the car. But you know that the thing that's going to get you isn't the fast driver in the hot car, or the bike knee down around the corner. It's the everyday driver who's not paying attention... it's a crap shoot, do the most you can to be the agressor not the defender.

3. vancelot

vancelot New Member