Riding on poor roads + new bike

Smurfario

Mar 17, 2004
Hi fellas,

I'm new to this forum so a big fat hello from me. I wanted to know whether there were any London-based riders in here that could tell me how they get on with the poor London roads on their road bikes (or for that matter any riders who regularly travel on poor condition roads!).

I have been commuting for over two years on my trusty steed - a Specialized Hard Rock Comp - and after 1000s of miles it needs to go into retirement. Over the last two years I have grown insanely jealous of all those buggers on road bikes whizzing past me. Whilst the MTB I have been riding has been immense and well suited to the conditions (especially considering you could go caving in some of the potholes on the roads in to the City) I want to get a road bike next. Budget is tight - about 500 quid or so - and thus I have had a look at the Lemond Nevada City and the Specialized Allez Triple, as well as a Bianchi San Remo (Gold Race Trip thingy - its in the sale at one of my LBS).

Can anyone tell me of their experiences using a road bike regularly on poor roads, and if they have any recommendations with regards to particular brands or model of bike. Any advice to this knackered MTB rider would be
gratefully received. I don't really want to consider a cross, because they look naff IMHO and road bikes suit my stytle! :)

Cheers,
Smurf

Sounds a lot like my situation a couple of months ago. I'd been riding my Specialized Hard Rock Sport FS for a couple of years on the road, and had been saving up for a new road bike too, when I got hit by a van in December, which bent my rear wheel and derailleurs. (that's right, a ford transit van, how did you guess)