Ridley Bikes

monsterke

Jul 1, 2004
I'm looking to by a Ridley ...

Damocles / Scandium or Boreas

I'm a beginner in cycling ... I started cycling last week (after a full 12 years not being anywhere near a bike)

I try to ride every day and I do about 35 Kilometers a day and around 60 K on a weekend day

Am I worthy of riding a Ridley yet ? or should I stick to my old Merckx bike (it's a bit too small for me ... and shifting is not on the steering wheel and the parts are old)

Originally posted by monsterke
I'm looking to by a Ridley ...

Damocles / Scandium or Boreas

I'm a beginner in cycling ... I started cycling last week (after a full 12 years not being anywhere near a bike)

I try to ride every day and I do about 35 Kilometers a day and around 60 K on a weekend day

Am I worthy of riding a Ridley yet ? or should I stick to my old Merckx bike (it's a bit too small for me ... and shifting is not on the steering wheel and the parts are old)

First off:

Everyone is worthy of a good bike! :)

Ok... more seriously, Some key-points:

Those are three high-level frames, that's for sure.

1. How big is the chance you stick with it? The bigger the chance, the more you can safely spend. It would be a shame if you spend 3k Euro and then decide it isn't for you.

2. Can you afford an expensive bike? For your wants/needs a cheaper bike is plenty... but I fully understand the "ohhh shiny" factor. I hold nothing against people buying a 5k Euro bike and riding only in the weekends. There are worse things to spend you cash on. I think a lot of us here are guilty of the "ohhh shiny" factor one way or the other.

3. Then to the bikes themselves: Whats your length/Weigth? This has some bearing on your choice. Especially the Scandium is very lightweigth and might not be the primary pick, all depending on your build. A good LBS (Local bike shop)will advice you on this.