Right Hand numbness @ 30 mins

geardad

Jun 2, 2006
I have a Trek 730 Hybrid bike with Grip Shift shifters and I believe stock handlebars..

my right hand gets numb after about 30 minutes of riding. I am not *aware* of favoring one side or the other.

I had been wearing some gloves, but that made things worse.

anyone have info about my issue? right now, I guess I have to limit my rides to 30 minutes.

I've been riding for 30 years and NEVER had this issue with road bike handlebars, but they offer at least 3 positions a rider can hang on, whereas the mountain bars I have really only offer the one position.

I'm thinkin that's it right there, and I'd love to put road handlebars on this good bike, but then I'd have to chuck all that hardware and replace it with something that would work with road bars.

sigh....

thanks for any hints.

g

Its posture, how you sit on the bike. Keep the wrists straight, don't bend them and sink into the seat and the bars.

Search the forum for "carpal". ;)

geardad said:
I have a Trek 730 Hybrid bike with Grip Shift shifters and I believe stock handlebars..

my right hand gets numb after about 30 minutes of riding. I am not *aware* of favoring one side or the other.

I had been wearing some gloves, but that made things worse.

anyone have info about my issue? right now, I guess I have to limit my rides to 30 minutes.

I've been riding for 30 years and NEVER had this issue with road bike handlebars, but they offer at least 3 positions a rider can hang on, whereas the mountain bars I have really only offer the one position.

I'm thinkin that's it right there, and I'd love to put road handlebars on this good bike, but then I'd have to chuck all that hardware and replace it with something that would work with road bars.

sigh....

thanks for any hints.