Rim Tape

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by watson10, Jun 4, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. watson10

watson10 New Member

I need to re-tape my rims. My friends tell me that electrical tape will work just fine. I'm new to this, so I don't know. Can you give me pros and cons?

Cheers,

Tom

[I hope this isn't considered a cross post]

Tags:

2. In article <[email protected]>, watson10 <[email protected]> wrote:
    >I need to re-tape my rims. My friends tell me that electrical tape will work just fine. I'm new to
    >this, so I don't know. Can you give me pros and cons?

Electrical tape can be cut by the spoke holes in the rim bed, I don't recommend it. As long as it
    doesn't get a cut it should work OK. If you install to many layers of it you may have tire fit
    problems - you will need to be sparing with it.

I like cloth rim tape (eg, Velox) or one of the slightly stretchy plastic ones.

--Paul

3. Tezza

Tezza New Member

I agree, cloth tape is a much better option than electrical tape - Velox cloth tape is fairly thick. This means that just one layer will be sufficient to protect your tube from spoke intrusion and it is light enough not to have any real impact. I put Velox on my hybrid rims and have run up over 7000km in 18 months and the tape is still pristine. The other problem with electrical tape is that it usually leaves a sticky residue when you remove it - this can be a pain to clean off when it is time to reapply the tape.
    ;)

4. I doubt that electrical tape would work. At least not for very long. I've never tried it though.
    Cloth handlebar tape will work fine, I've used it in an emergency (my LBS didn't have any rim tape).
    Never did have to take it off.

However, why not just use Velox? It's not expensive.

May you have the wind at your back. And a really low gear for the hills! Chris

Chris'Z Corner "The Website for the Common Bicyclist": http://www.geocities.com/czcorner

5. Mike Wright