road bike or hybrid?

GreenLizard

Jan 21, 2006
I am just getting into cycling and want to buy a bike. Originally my plans were to get a road bike, but I am now also considering buying a hybrid (multiterrain bike). I plan to do group rides with a local club, probably on the roads, but considering when I ride on my own I often ride on bumpy sidewalks and alleys, and jump high curbs, so I thought a hybrid might be better for me so I don't have to be too careful with it. But I have read on other forums that hybrids are slower than road bikes and are not good for group rides. What should I do?

A few options:

Change you riding style if you want to join a group ride.

Buy a mountain bike and a road bike.

Buy a MTB and fit Conti slicks.

Buy a Flat bar road bike and keep off the kerbs.

GreenLizard said:
I am just getting into cycling and want to buy a bike. Originally my plans were to get a road bike, but I am now also considering buying a hybrid (multiterrain bike). I plan to do group rides with a local club, probably on the roads, but considering when I ride on my own I often ride on bumpy sidewalks and alleys, and jump high curbs, so I thought a hybrid might be better for me so I don't have to be too careful with it. But I have read on other forums that hybrids are slower than road bikes and are not good for group rides. What should I do?
Also, depending upon your pirce range, you may want to consider a cyclocross bike. It has road racing geometry, drop bars, and can be fitted with narrow road tires or wider tires for off roading or bumpy terrain. They are perfectly capable for fast group rides. They usually have enough tire clearance to miunt fenders and such. They do tend to be a bit more expensive but may be a good option for you.

Cheers,

Brian