Road bike puncture misery

Punctured

Aug 25, 2006
:( I am new to the cycling game and currently bash out about 200km a week communting in London (in all weathers). I ahve a new Giant OCR Road bike, which is great but i do get at least 2 punctures a week. i now need new tyres as the old ones have slits accross the thread from glass. What does anyone recommend? durability more imporatnat that speed as i am fed up with having to walk to work! can i get tyres online?

any advice appreciated.
Thanks

Punctured said:
:( I am new to the cycling game and currently bash out about 200km a week communting in London (in all weathers). I ahve a new Giant OCR Road bike, which is great but i do get at least 2 punctures a week. i now need new tyres as the old ones have slits accross the thread from glass. What does anyone recommend? durability more imporatnat that speed as i am fed up with having to walk to work! can i get tyres online?

any advice appreciated.
Thanks
Hi there, and welcome! You and I are putting in about the same distance commuting, so I know how annoying it is to flat halfway on your 25 km commute. I use Michelin Krylion Carbons, and have not flatted them yet. They are very durable, and widely available. On top of that they have low rolling resisance and are quite light. It really is one of the best training tires one can get.

How much would you expect to pay for a set of these? i am on a rather tight budget... I do anticipate savings on inner tubes though!

I really would not know, as I live in Holland, and do not kow any UK online retailers. Ah wait, they go for 34,95 pounds a pair on Ebay uk.

A word of advice, do not skimp on tires. Expensive tires usually really are worth their money.

Punctured said:

any advice appreciated.
Thanks